After a highly successful decade, the Peter Benchley Ocean Awards™ will be retired, said co-founders, Wendy Benchley and David Helvarg

We were thrilled to see the 2015 Peter Benchley Ocean Award winner for excellence in 'National Stewardship of the Ocean,' H.S.H.

Blog Post by David Helvarg and Photo by Brian Skerry

The 9th Annual Awards event weekend will take place May 20 - 22, 2016 in beautiful Monterey, California.

2016 Annual Peter Benchley™ Ocean Award Winners Announced

The world’s preeminent honors for ocean conservation recognizes a diverse group of global leaders for 2016

Fresh off this year's 8th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards it is great to see the world making ocean conservation a new priority. Thanks goes to everyone at every level across every field of ocean endeavor for the progress we are making.

Peter Benchley Ocean Awards Presents

The Ocean in 2050: Global Leadership Forum

Distinguished Panelists:

Peter Benchley Ocean Awards Foundation is excited to announce the launch of Peter Benchley Ocean Awards web site. As we recognize the marine conservation achievements of our extraordinary honorees, it is fitting to reflect on the positive momentum we are seeing in the efforts to protect and restore our living blue world.

8th Annual Peter Benchley Ocean Awards

May 14, 2015

Ceremony 6:00 pm   Dinner 7:30 pm  
Carnegie Institution for Science, Washington, D.C.


To contact Co-Founder, Wendy Benchley, please email Wendy's Executive Assistant Mary Fritz,

To contact Co-Founder, David Helvarg, please email,